All Kinds of Loveliness

Thursday brought with it some lovely post, making Friday a wonderfully cheerful day.

A wedding invite for a friend’s upcoming nuptials has arrived. It is BEAUTIFUL. I am super excited and also planning to enrol her as my stationery advisor. Seriously, it is so pretty and lovely and classy and gorgeous. It made me smile; for us for going and for her and for everyone around me who seems to be getting engaged/married at the moment… but that’s really another post altogether.

I also finally got my hands on my Marian Keyes’ cookbook: Saved by Cake. I don’t remember the last time I was this excited about a book landing at my door. I’ve been obsessively tracking the package for the last couple of days, desperately hoping it wasn’t too big for the letterbox, knowing I really couldn’t ask David to stay awake for it, what with him working nights and all. Royal Mail told me it had been delivered. Texts from David throughout the day revealed no such thing. And surely he’d let me know? Because he knew how excited I was…

Boys don’t think this way though, so it was just sat on the kitchen table waiting for me when I got in.

Here’s a picture of the cover image…

Isn’t it cute? Now, although I was thoroughly sold on the premise, I’m not overly into all that pretty, kitsch stuff, so I wasn’t sure how I’d take to it, but trust me, it really is the most gorgeous thing. The cover is pretty, the text is pretty, the pictures are to die for. I just kind of sat there for a while, flicking through and sighing contentedly.

The best thing about it, is it is just so Marian. I love it already. It’s frank and honest and funny and inspiring. And so, I have decided that now is the time to learn to bake. It’s not my forte. I love cooking, true; be it pasta dishes, bakes, stews, all that jazz, I am not too shabby. Baking on the other hand is a whole new world which I am not confident in, at all. So, I thought I’d give it a go with Marian, and just a few pages in I knew I had made the right decision.

I brought the book into work today, so that I could read it on the train (and not because I couldn’t bear to be parted from it) and it drew the attention of the office. And somehow, in all the banter and discussion, I started thinking, maybe I could go Julie and Julia-esque on this? Maybe, this is just the challenge I need?

I’m abit concerned about the recipe which instructs me to get a good night sleep the night before though; where baking has helped Marian get through the days it could so very easily cause me sleepless nights. But… I’m really quite taken with the idea.

Thoughts anyone?

Really I need some kind of authority on undertaking such a challenge.

What about recipes I don’t like? Do I still need to bake them? (Expecting all colleagues to answer a resounding yes on that one, but I could very easily end up completely overwhelmed with baked goods through this exercise).

Do I need a timescale?

Do I need another copy? Yes, I know, but this genuinely did cross my mind. I voiced my concern to a colleague and we both decided I was maybe going a bit far… but then she suggested photocopying. This could work? I definitely don’t want to end up with a book stuck together with cake mix and egg yolks, which is likely if you look at any of my savoury recipes (without the cake mix).

What’s the point? If the point is to learn to bake, do I just need to make 1 cupcake recipe, 1 cheesecake etc.? Or I should I look at this more in a “personal journey” kind of way?

If Marian can bake her way through her darkest days, does that mean that getting home from work and finding myself dragging a chair across the kitchen to reach down the flour (why is the flour, which David has absolutely no reason to touch, on a shelf too high for me?) will not make me curse and pour myself a glass of wine from the stress of it all? (Oh, by the way, giving up booze for lent… except for at the hen do… and the wedding… and the other hen do…)

83 recipes. Of which a fair number are various versions of cupcakes, cheesecakes, and macaroons. I’m not convinced I need to make them all. Maybe the cupcakes, for the benefit of the office…and the cheesecakes for David… Okay, so I need to make them all except the 6 different flavours of macaroon.

78 recipes then…

This entry was posted in Books/Reading/Writing, Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All Kinds of Loveliness

  1. archaism says:

    I’d argue the macaroons are amongst the most important element. I’d be disappointed if you didn’t try them.

    Regarding whether or not to try a Julie and Julia thing, I’m not sure. However, if you do I think you should set a time limit. For eighty three recipes, fifty two weeks seems reasonable. You’ll definitely become more popular at work – there’s no way you could eat ALL those cakes!

    I love cookbooks. Two of my favourite books are of the cook variety: Michel Roux’ Eggs and Heston’s The Fat Duck Cookbook. These tomes are incredible – I would fully recommend these to anyone. From reading the latter, I swore aloud to an empty house. It’s just that good.

  2. I got this book for my birthday – love it!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Pingback: Saved by cake? | With my shoes full of feet

Leave a Reply

