The Little Things

Watching a documentary on the underground last week I was struck by a very friendly, happy chap called Tim Pinn. He seemed so dedicated to being a smiling face in peoples’ days. (Watch episode 3, from around 33 mins). He’s just so constantly, reliably happy.

I very much subscribe to the idea that it’s the little things which make a day and we should all try and be abit nicer to each other. I try to be chipper at work, because, well, we’re at work so let’s do our best to make it enjoyable. Generally, I’m friendly and polite to the people I meet going about my day. Sometimes I’m not, maybe I’m grumpy, maybe they’ve done something to irritate me (I’m looking at you lady who poked me awake on the early train to Cardiff when I’d already shown my ticket to the other guard), but mostly I try to think about the difference a smile can make.

Earlier in the week, when I was unwell and David was working away, the tesco delivery man carried the crates in through our awkward doorway and helped unload them in my kitchen (thank you Andy). I almost cried in gratitude, I was so exhausted and appreciative. A few weeks previously the person checking tickets at the entrance to the station had taken all my bags of shopping off me while I rooted around in my bag for my ticket. The offering of a ‘ feel better’ crunchie which made me smile, even if it also made me realise exactly how horrific of was feeling. Flowers from my mum, just because.

It really is the little things and whilst it is often easier to scowl at someone who takes your seat or ridicule the muppet who emails you a  question which makes you want to shout GOOGLE at the screen, I’m determined to try even harder to be the friendly face which makes the difference to someone’s day.

This entry was posted in Thoughts and Observations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Little Things

  1. Reblogged this on Inkings and Inklings and commented:
    Proud to be the Crunchie-giver!

Leave a Reply

