Saved by cake?

So, it’s started. Does anyone remember my Saved by Cake blog, where I talked about going “Julie & Julia-esque” and baking my way through Marian Keyes’ adorable cookbook?

Well, today I *finally* baked my first Saved by Cake recipe. It wasn’t the tahini cake that was talk of the office at the end of last week. Actually, the cake itself wasn’t really up for discussion. The fact that I tweeted Marian Keyes regarding one of the ingredients (date syrup) and that she TWEETED ME BACK was very much all I could talk about. It was all I could do not to start squealing in the middle of the open plan.

Anyway, back to it. I made a cake. It’s this one:

Look how similar my attempt looks:

Chocolate and Sour Cream Cake

I hope it is as delicious as it looks! Against all expectations, it was remarkably stress free.

I even managed to knock up some pizza dough to make some wicked looking pizzas for when David returned from a stag do weekend.

AND I’d managed to mooch around Winchester in the morning buying shoes and crockery. Success!

I’ve learnt a few things from Recipe 1, mainly that I need to do as planned and equip myself for future baking episodes and that I need to prepare myself better. On with the baking (and Marian Keyes worship, of course).

Success – Recipe 1 complete

This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Saved by cake?

  1. Looks delicious 🙂 I’ve also blogged about my ‘Saved by Cake’ baking experiences, have a look: http://ramblinglitchi.wordpress.com/tag/marian-keyes/

Leave a Reply

