If in doubt, read.

I’ve been voraciously reading lately. When not obsessing about shoes or envelopes or other such wedding-related things, there have been books. Here’s my reviews of books I’ve read in the past month:

The Rosie Project – Graeme Simsion

I think I’d built this up a bit too much. I spent a while looking at it before I decided I deserved a shiny new hardback in my life. It was good. I got more involved than I expected. Bit short, maybe.

The Old Man and the Sea – Hemingway

Hemingway makes me happy. I love this story. David read it! You should read it, too.

The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro

I’ve been battling through this one for a while now. Not because it’s hard to read, it’s not, but maybe I wasn’t particularly invested. Something clicked nearer the end and I couldn’t put it down, but I’d like to read it again and concentrate. It reminded me of something else I’ve read, but I couldn’t tell you what. Annoyingly.

Instructions for a Heatwave – Maggie O’Farrell

I really enjoy Maggie O’Farrell. If you do too, you’ll love this. If you don’t I’m not sure. I just really get in to the descriptions and the relationships and the feel of it.

The Wedding Night – Sophie Kinsella

Good work, Sophie Kinsella. If you know me, you’ll know I love ‘good chic lit’. I mean, I consume it all regardless (and some of it’s really bad) but I rave about my favourites. Sophie Kinsella is a good egg and this was enjoyable – probably enhanced because of its relevance!

Tess of the D’Urbervilles – Thomas Hardy

Another one that’s taken a while. I’ve been reading it concurrently with The Remains of the Day but I got there eventually and loved it.

The Accidental Husband – Jane Green

Probably the most awful thing I’ve read in a very long time. I turned down pages of the particularly awful passages but failed to take pictures of them to share before I returned it to the library. There was no subtly. It’s all ‘they embraced, she was sad’. So. Bad. I tried to write in a similar style to illustrate my point, but my passages all seemed quite heartfelt.

Paper Towns – John Green

Picked out because it was written by the author of The Fault in our Stars which was amazing. This one was good – story stays with you and while it’s not always subtle (I think teenagers are hard though – maybe they aren’t written melodramatic to be unsubtle but because teenagers are melodramatic) it still draws you in. I’ve got more John Green on reserve.

I continue to consume books.

This entry was posted in Books/Reading/Writing, Reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

