“Yay for commuting and the time to read my Elk book”

You know you’re reading a good ‘un when you can’t wait to get on a train. Since my last post, the constant consumption of books continued. Obviously caring about wedding shoes and envelopes and such as so forth has finished. Mostly, I’ve needed something to do with my time. Also I’ve taken to the train for my daily commute and nothing gets me through it like a good book. I keep raving about you must read this and that and the other so I thought I’d do another snap shot of my “just read” list.

Picture me Gone – Meg Rosoff

YA. I forgot this was Meg Rosoff pretty quickly. That’s not a bad thing, or a good thing, either. I really like Meg Rosoff. It was just more of a straightforward story than her others. It still had the depth of feeling I appreciate and a strong teenage lead. I really enjoyed it and got pretty absorbed. 

The Circle – Dave Eggers

I avoided this for a while; it’s pretty well known I’m an avid fan so you wouldn’t expect me to be reticent but I read a few less than wonderful reviews and it made me a bit nervous. But I did enjoy it, and I got into it. It was a fascinating look into a future ruled by a technological giant (*cough* Google *cough*) and that side of it was fascinating. I even liked Mae and her kayak to start with. But I felt that at times the characters didn’t react realistically (i.e., as you would expect given how Eggers’ had developed them) in order to further the story and the conclusion of the story. Bad, Eggers! That’s not the way it works! Still, it was worth a read for the premise alone.

Love, Nina – Nina Stibbe

LOVED THIS. Love how she wrote, loved the stories, loved the unfettered glimpse into the literary 80s. 

Here’s Looking at You – Mhairi McFarlane

Good chick lit. Almost sounds like a criticism, or a reduction of its achievement. It’s not, it’s just the best way to describe it. When so much of the genre is kind of okay, consumable, this is a gem. I read it on the back of how much I enjoyed another by McFarlane (You Had Me at Hello), and this was close to as good. If you like “good chick lit”, give this a go.

The Deception Artist – Fayette Fox

I read this while on honeymoon, a fair while ago now. It was a super absorbing story (not that I spent my honeymoon reading, but we did do 1200 miles…)  about a little girl with a vivid imagination. Joined my “read this” list that I trot out when asked for my latest recommendations.

Where’d You Go, Bernadette? – Maria Semple

Quirky. 

May We Be Forgiven – A. M. Holmes

Excellent.

The Last Letter from your Lover – Jojo Moyes

Too sad. (Not like, too sad in a good way, you know, the ones you enjoy sobbing all the way through, just TOO SAD. I got to the end and I was sad and I didn’t like it.)

Z: A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald – Therese Ann Fowler

Wonderful. I’ll elaborate for this one. If you’re a fan of Fitzgerald or the 20s or books or people you should read this. I loved it. I wasn’t sure how I’d take to the novelization of the life of the Fitzgerald’s but it works really well and inspired me to want to read more – fiction and nonfiction. I’m keen to give Mrs Hemingway a go now (out now, by Naomi Wood who, by the way, tweeted me about it when I expressed my wavering over whether I’ll love it as much as Z…especially given Hemingway doesn’t come out of that particularly well. I’ve decided to give it a shot.)

Frances and Bernard – Carlene Bauer

Fun, letter-format book about the relationship between Frances and Bernard. I enjoyed it, but I’m not sure the styling (beautiful cover (I have the hardback) and fun typewriter typography) was matched by the content. As with books like this, where the exchange of letters forms the narrative, you can’t help but get swept along. And who doesn’t love a love story? Especially a complicated one.

 

Okay. I’m done. Next time: the “Elk book” (which I got very carried away telling everyone at work about today (led to some slightly weird conversations and the circulation of the picture of a baby elk)).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

